Last updateFri, 05 Sep 2014 1pm

State Philharmonic announces fall/winter season

The Jalisco Philharmonic Orchestra kicks off its third and final concert series of the year on September 21 with a nostalgic review of some of the finest Mexican classical music.

Without any specific theme, the winter season features some interesting choices by the JPO’s Canadian musical director Marco Parisotto, who takes the baton for four of the six programs.  Three of concerts feature the work of a sole composer: Shostakovich, Bruckner and Strauss.

All the concerts are scheduled at the majestic Degollado Theater in Guadalajara. Ticket prices remain the same as for the earlier seasons of 2014: 110 to 200 pesos – an absolute bargain.

Tickets can be purchased at the Degollado box office or through Ticketmaster at 3818-3800 or online at www.tickemaster.com.mx.

Mexico in my Heart
Marco Parisotto, music director; Rodolfo Ritter, piano.
- Works by Carlos Chavez, R. Fuentes/S. Vargas, Pepe Guizar, Manuel Ponce, Silvestre Revueltas, Jose Pablo Moncayo.
Sunday, September 21, 12:30 p.m.

German Romanticism
Marco Parisotto, music director; Philippe Quint, violín.
- Johannes Brahms’ “Concerto for violín op. 77 in D major” and   
- Robert Schumann’s “Symphony no.3 op.97 ‘Rhenish’ in E-flat major.”
Friday, September 26, 8:30 p.m. and Sunday, September 28, 12:30 p.m.

Leningrad Under Siege
Arvo Volmer, guest conductor.
- Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Symphony no.7 op.60 ‘Leningrad’ in C major.”
Friday, October 3, 8:30 p.m. and Sunday, October 5, 12:30 p.m.

Pictures at an Exhibition
Joshua Dos Santos, guest conductor.
- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Serenata Notturna KV 239.”
- Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovesky’s “Suite No.4 in G major op.61.”
Modest Mussorgsky’s “Pictures at an Exhibition” (Ravel orchestration).
Thursday, October 9, 8:30 p.m. and Friday, October 10, 8:30 p.m.

Bruckner ‘Titanic”
Marco Parisotto, music director.
- Anton Bruckner’s “Symphony No.8 in C minor” (1890 version – Robert Haas).
Friday, October 24, 8:30 p.m. and Sunday, October 26, 12:30 p.m.

Homage to Richard Strauss
Marco Parisotto, music director; Stefan Dohr, horn (Berlín Philharmonic).
- Richard Strauss’ “Salome op.54: Dance of the seven veils,” “Concerto for horn no.2, TrV 283 in E-flat major” and “Ein Heldenleben, op.40.”
Friday, December 12, 8:30 p.m. and Sunday, December 14, 12:30 p.m.